About our leadership team

The National Fire Heritage Center (NFHC) is operated and managed by Executive Officers, a Board of Directors, Trustees, and various key personnel.

Day-to-day operation of the NFHC is overseen by our Executive Director and Archivist.

R. Wayne Powell, Executive Director
Frank Schmersal, Archivist

Information about the NFHC: Contact us

Media inquiries: Susie Nicol, Public Information Officer, 240-626-5474 (cell)

Executive Officers

Ronny J. Coleman, President
William D. Killen, Vice President for Finance
Willie G. Shelton, Jr., Vice President for Operations
Stuart M. Nathan, Secretary
Paul D. Brooks, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Stephen P. Austin
Donald N. Briggs
Frederick E. Brower
W. Parker Browne
Ty Dickerson
Chief Steve Hansen
George Morgan
Stuart M. Nathan
Ron Siarnicki
Rodney A. Slaughter
Lynn White


Robert C. Andrews
Thomas L. Herman
W. Curt Weldon
Kenneth S. Wyvill, Jr.