• P.O. Drawer 76, Emmitsburg, Maryland 21727
  • (301) 876-3454

Nomination Instructions: Benjamin Franklin Writer’s Award 2022

Benjamin Franklin with Chief (Ret.) Ronny J. Coleman

Established to preserve the history of America's fire services and fire protection disciplines, the National Fire Heritage Center recognizes that authors of books, magazines, newsletters, and a variety of media are key preservers of America's fire services and fire protection disciplines history. Their stories keep alive the events and people who might otherwise have been lost through generations of change. To thank and recognize the contributions authors make in preserving America's Fire Heritage, each year, the National Fire Heritage Center presents the Benjamin Franklin Fire Writer's Award.

In honor of Benjamin Franklin's unique combination of being a writer and publisher and simultaneously an advocate for fire protection in the community, NFHC created the Benjamin Franklin Fire Writer's Award to honor authors also dedicated to these missions.

Benjamin Franklin is recognized as the "Father of the American Fire Service." He is credited with the creation in 1736 of one of the first fire companies in the country. In almost any reference, whether it is fire prevention, fire suppression, fire engineering, or even fire education, his name is invoked as being among the first in this nation to be an advocate of fire and life safety. However, Franklin was most proud of his chosen trade: a printer. He made his fortune as a writer. Poor Richard's Almanac was only one of his efforts to convert ideas into words and act upon them in a meaningful manner. He had a profound impact not only on the fire service but upon our government, the insurance industry, our lifestyles, and the sense of self-assessment that still rings clear in contemporary society.

One of his efforts was to create the JUNTO — a club for mutual improvement — in 1736, which resulted in creating the first lending library, the creation of a volunteer fire company, the national postal system, and the insurance industry. All of these institutions exist in contemporary society today. Franklin left a vast legacy of written products. He encouraged writers to "go on record" as to their beliefs, observations, and support of public and private initiatives. Through the Benjamin Franklin Fire Writer's Award, the National Fire Heritage Center encourages today's fire writers to do the same.

How to Apply:

Anyone can nominate a printed, digital, or electronic book or periodical. The document can cover any aspect of The document can cover any aspect of "Fire Services and Fire Protection Disciplines" history. While it may be written covering fire service history before 1940, recent history between 1941 and 1970, or topics of historical importance since 1970 the author(s) may also be from these time periods, which we hope nominations covers a vast preservation of events, individuals, fire service technology, training, and other aspect of the fire service.Consider, what makes it a valuable documentation of America's fire service history?

Submit a hard copy of the document with a completed the nomination form and payment of $25.00 application fee payable to National Fire Heritage Center either as a check, money order or receipt of electronic payment at ( https://fireheritageusa.org/donations ).  Please include "Benjamin Franklin Writer's Award Nomination" in the comment box when making the $25 online payment.

Submit the nomination form and a copy of the document by August 31, 2021 to:

Benjamin Franklin Writer's Award Committee
National Fire Heritage Center
PO Drawer 76
Emmitsburg, MD21727

How will nominations be judged?

Each nomination will be judged by a panel of three judges who score the document on the extent to which it achieves six criteria and give a bonus score based on its merit or contribution to America's fire service historical preservation.

Nominations that receive a score of 90 or more will be given the Gold award. Nominations receiving 80 – 89 will receive the Silver award, and nominations receiving 70 - 79 will receive the Bronze award. Nominations receiving 60 and 69 will receive a "Nominated" certificate.

For more information contact:

Dr. Carey D. Waddell, Director
Benjamin Franklin Writer's Award Committee, Chair

File Name: 2021 Benjamin Franklin Writers Award Nomination
File Size: 202 kb
Download File
Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

Your support will help with historical review of past practices and research for new approaches to save lives and reduce fire losses in the future.

Contact Info

  • The National Fire Heritage Center
  • Physical Address: 17701 Creamery Road, Emmitsburg, Maryland 21727
    Mailing Address: P.O. Drawer 76, Emmitsburg, Maryland 21727
  • Phone: (301) 876-3454